If you are a member or an alumnus of A.R.M.A. you may login to submit articles and contribute to the website.

Department of Otolaryngology - Vanderbilt University

James L. Netterville, M.D.

Dr. Netterville is the Director of Head and Neck Surgery at Vanderbilt and is an international leading authority of treating head and neck cancer. He is one of the world's experts in the treatment of skull base tumors and has a vast clinical experience.

Gaelyn Garret, M.D.

Dr. Garret is the Medical Director of The Vanderbilt Voice Center and oversees the operation of a nationally renowed treatment center for laryngology and care of the professional voice. She has been a faculty participant in many instructional courses including Country Radio Seminar in Nashville, TN. Dr. Garret is also on the staff of St. Thomas and Veterans Hospitals in Nashville.
Robert F. Labadie, M.D., Ph. D

Dr. Labadie is an Associate Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at Vanderbilt Medical Center and an Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. Dr. Labadie's clinical interests include surgery of the ear especially ossicular chain reconstruction and cochlear implantetion.
Karen Joos, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Karen Joos is a professor at the department of Ophthalmology at Vandrebilt University. Dr. Joos specializes in the management of glaucomatous diseases in children and adults, including the medical, laser and surgical treatment of glaucoma. She has particular expertise in diagnosing and treating pediatric glaucoma, as well as adult glaucomas in the advanced stages. Surgical techniques include laser iridotomy, laser iridoplasty, laser trabeculoplasty, goniotomy, trabeculotomy, trabeculectomy with and without anti-metabolites, glaucoma drainage implants, and diode laser cyclophotocoagulation.
George Wanna

Dr. George B. Wanna is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. He earned his medical degree at the Lebanese University.  He then became a Postdoctorate Research Fellow in Neurotology, Department of Otolaryngology, Columbia University, New York. He did his residency in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, New York. His career at Vanderbilt University Hospital began in 2008, when he began a two-year Neurotology-Skull Base Fellowship. He has several manuscripts that have been published and has presented at numerous conferences nationally and internationally. His most recent research projects and concentration have been in the areas of Clinical Validation of Percutaneous Petrous Apex Approach, Correlation of MicroCT and Histology for Electrodes Position in Cochlear Implants, Middle Ear Implants and Surgery vs. Radiosurgery for Skull Base Tumors. His career goals are Academic Otology & Neurotology and Skull Base Surgery.


Department of Urologic Surgery - Vanderbilt Medical Center

S. Duke Herrell, M.D.

Dr. Herrell is an Associate Professor of Urologic Surger and the Director of Minimally-Invasive Urologic Surgery/Robotics Program. He is also the Fellowship Director of the MIS / Robotics / Endolourology / Laparoscopic Postgraduate Felloship. 
Ryan B. Pickens, M.D.

Dr. Pickens is an endoroulogy Fellow at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Before joining Vanderbil University, he was a urology resident at the University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville.

Department of Surgery - Columbia University, New York, NY

Dennis L. Fowler, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Fowler is a Professor of CLinical Surgery at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons. He is also the Director of the Reemtsma Center for Innovation and Outcomes Research at Columbia University Collge of Physicians & Surgeons. 


Department of Computer Science - Columbia University, New York, NY

Peter K. Allen

Peter K. Allen is Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University. He received the A.B. degree from Brown University in Mathematics-Economics, the M.S. in Computer Science from the University of Oregon and the Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Pennsylvania, where he was the recipient of the CBS Foundation Fellowship, Army Research Office fellowship and the Rubinoff Award for innovative uses of computers. His current research interests include robotic grasping, 3-D vision and modeling, and medical robotics. In recognition of his work, Professor Allen has been named a Presidential Young Investigator by the National Science Foundation.


Department of Computer Science - Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

RHT Russell H. Taylor

Dr. Taylor is a professor of Computer Science with
Secondary Appointment in Mechanical Engineering, Radiology and Surgery. He is also the Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Computer-Integrated Surgical Systems and Technology.  He is the author of approximately 275 refereed publications, a Fellow of the IEEE, of the AIMBE, of the MICCAI Society, and of the Engineering School of the University of Tokyo.  He is also a recipient of the IEEE Robotics Pioneer Award, of the MICCAI Society Enduring Impact Award, and of the Maurice Müller award for excellence in computer-assisted orthopaedic surgery.


Department of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery - New York University

John T. Roland John T. Roland

Mendik Foundation Professor of Otolaryngology; Professor; Chair & Mendik Foundation Professor of Otologny; Chair & Mendik Foundation Professor of Otolaryngology and Neurosurgery.


Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University

Howie Choset

Howie Choset is a Professor of Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University. Choset directs the Undergraduate Robotics Minor at Carnegie Mellon and teaches an overview course on Robotics which uses series of custom developed Lego Labs to complement the course work. Professor Choset's students have won best paper awards at the RIA in 1999 and ICRA in 2003; his group's work has been nominated for best papers at ICRA in 1997, IROS in 2003 and 2007, and CLAWAR in 2012 (best biorobotics paper, best student paper); won best paper at IEEE Bio Rob in 2006; won best video at ICRA 2011; and was nominated for best video in ICRA 2012. In 2002 the MIT Technology Review elected Choset as one of its top 100 innovators in the world under 35. In 2005, MIT Press published a textbook, lead authored by Choset, entitled "Principles of Robot Motion." Recently, Choset co-founded a company called Medrobotics (formerly Cardiorobotics) which makes a small surgical snake robot for minimally invasive surgery.